Safety Professional of the Year (SPY)


It is our pleasure to recognize past president (from back in the day, 2005-2007) Steve LePock as the 2023 Safety Professional of the Year (SPY) for the Greater Tidewater Chapter. Steve LePock is the Risk Manager for the Virginia Beach City Public Schools. He has been an active member of the Greater Tidewater Chapter since 1996 and is an invaluable resource to the chapter as well as the Occupational Safety and Health profession. Steve is currently the Membership and Public Relations Chair for the Greater Tidewater Chapter. His involvement in the safety of our communities is far reaching and includes involvement in a variety of volunteer organizations including Facilities/Logistics Chair of the ASSP Region VI Professional Development Committee, the Board of Directors for the National Public Risk Management Association (PRIMA) and Treasurer, for the Virginia Public Risk Management Association (VAPRIMA).

At the local level, Steve has extensive institutional knowledge of ASSP and has been instrumental in promoting membership and a strong foundation for social event sponsorships for our local chapter. He is well-deserving of this award. “It’s truly a remarkable achievement and a testament to all the Chapter Executive Boards that I’ve had the pleasure of working alongside.  Being recognized by your peers is a significant honor, especially in the safety world. I am grateful for all the valuable friendships made while being a member of Greater Tidewater Chapter.” – Steve LePock